Author Topic: GPS data transfer to the "Location" field  (Read 3245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline John Eccles

  • Owner of Satellite Tracker and Yahoo Satellite Tracker
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 187
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • Satellite Tracker
GPS data transfer to the "Location" field
« on: April 21, 2014, 05:55:41 PM »
I have been asked what are the chances for those who have GPS data available to allow this GPS data to populate the "Location" field automatically. I have taken this under consideration and, when I have time, will look into what it will take to implement this into the Satellite Tracker software.
Regards, John Eccles, Owner of Satellite Tracker Application, the Satellite Tracker Forum, and the Yahoo Groups called Satellite Tracker

Offline Barry Brown

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Welcome to the Satellite Tracker Forum
Re: GPS data transfer to the "Location" field
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2014, 02:01:26 PM »
The LX200 command set allows for getting the latitude and longitude from the scope.

:Gg# and :Gt#

Perhaps this would be easier than implementing a GPS solution in the application.

Offline John Eccles

  • Owner of Satellite Tracker and Yahoo Satellite Tracker
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 187
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • Satellite Tracker
Re: GPS data transfer to the "Location" field
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2014, 05:44:12 PM »
Thank you for that information. One of these days I am going to get out from under all the other stuff that is keeping me busy and start reviewing the command set for a few of the more popular telescopes. Your suggestion has merit and thanks for letting me know.
Regards, John Eccles, Owner of Satellite Tracker Application, the Satellite Tracker Forum, and the Yahoo Groups called Satellite Tracker